Every state has its own laws about marriage licenses. What you will find here is a gist of the requirements. Please check with your state laws to know more.
The following states require the couples to have a blood test done:
– Washington DC
In New York applicants from some communities, notably from the Hispanic American and African communities must take the blood test.
In the following states, there is mandatory waiting period after making an application for a license:
|Florida (couples who attend a marriage preparation class are exempt)|
The objective of the waiting period requirement is to ensure that the couples have sufficient time to think about their decision to get married.
Waiting Period (after license)
The following states have a mandatory waiting period after the license is granted:
Validity of the license
The license is only valid for a limited time.
The following states have a validity period of 30 days:
Wisconsin, Texas, Utah, Tennessee, Missouri, Oklahoma, New Jersey, Alabama, Louisiana, Kentucky, Colorado, Hawaii, Delaware
In the following states, the validity is 60 days:
West Virginia, Arkansas, North Dakota, Washington, Florida, Virginia, Illinois, Vermont, Indiana, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Oregon, Ohio, North Carolina, New York
States with a 90 day validity are Rhode Island, Alaska, New Hampshire, Maine and California
Montana, Iowa, Minnesota, Kansas and Maryland all have a 6 month validity period.
In Nevada, Arizona and Nebraska marriage licenses are valid for one year.
South Dakota has a time limit of 20 days while it is 65 days in Connecticut and 33 days in Michigan. Marriage licenses have an indefinite validity in Washington DC. , Wyoming, Mississippi, South Carolina, Georgia, New Mexico and Idaho